Board of Trustees

The VEBA Board of Trustees is comprised of school superintendents, principals, and business and finance directors. The Board oversees all VEBA Trust and Plan operations and meets with its professional advisors and service providers at least three times per year to review status reports, changes in regulations, in-depth analysis of the Trust’s investments, etc. Additional meetings and conference calls are scheduled as needed.

The Trustees (listed below) are fiduciaries and have a duty to act prudently and in the best interest of all participants and beneficiaries.



Maria Breuder, Treasurer
Principal, McGilvra Elementary
Seattle Public Schools

Cameron Grow
Principal, Lincoln Middle School
Pullman Public Schools


Shane Backlund
Deputy Superintendent
Educational Service District 105

Dr. Greg Baker, Chairman
Bellingham Public Schools


Mathew Knott, Secretary
Director of Business Services
Central Valley School District

Elaine Thompson
Director of Purchasing & Accounting
Federal Way Public Schools